Version Française The Origin of Backgammon English Version

Home | Timeline | Bibliography | Gallery | Search | Links | Contact ]

----------------------------

 

Welcome

Backgammon as it is played today was not invented in one day but is the fruit of a long evolution.

This site retraces the history of backgammon through time.

Please, do not hesitate to send me your comments to correct or enrich this site: fred_ml@yahoo.fr

----------------------------

The Game of Backgammon is considered as one of the oldest games with go and chess and was certainly the most geographically widespread.

In Antiquity and the Middle Ages, numerous games were played on a board of 24 points and were called "Game of Tables" (See Bibliography and Gallery). These various games were distinguished in particular by the position of the men at the start of play.

The variant of game of tables that used the same initial position as backgammon appeared in the Middle Ages under different names depending on the country where it was played : Todas Tablas in Spain (in Alfonso X Book of Games), Shuanglu in China (in Pushuang) and Golaka-Krida in India (in Manasollasa). So the initial position of backgammon was known since 12th-13th century. 

In Renaissance, this variant was the most played one in England where it was named Irish. It was also played in France under the name Toutes Tables and in Italy under the name Totae Tabulae (in latin).

The name « Backgammon » appeared in 1635 in England (Familiar Letters). Backgammon differed only from Irish in playing doublets twice.

The backgammon rules were not totally codified until the Enlightenment when Edmond Hoyle wrote a short treatise. The only missing rule was the doubling cube that was invented USA at the end of 20's (Modern Backgammon).

Version Française L'Origine du Backgammon English Version

Accueil | Chronologie | Bibliographie | Galerie | Recherche | Liens | Contact ]

----------------------------

 

Bienvenue

Le Backgammon tel qu'il est joué aujourd'hui n'a pas été inventé en un jour mais est le fruit d'une longue évolution.

Ce site retrace l'histoire du backgammon à travers le temps.

N'hésitez pas à me faire part de vos commentaires afin de corriger ou d'enrichir ce site : fred_ml@yahoo.fr

----------------------------

Le jeu du backgammon est considéré comme l’un des jeux les plus vieux avec le jeu de go et les échecs et est certainement celui qui a été le plus répandu géographiquement.

Dans l’Antiquité et le Moyen Âge de nombreux jeux étaient joués sur un tablier de 24 cases et étaient réunis sous le nom de « jeu des tables » (Cf. Bibliographie et Galerie). Ces différents jeux se différenciaient notamment par le placement des pions en début de partie.

La variante du jeu des tables qui utilise la même position initiale que le backgammon apparaît au Moyen Âge sous différents noms suivant le pays où elle est jouée : Todas Tablas en Espagne (dans le livre des jeux d’Alfonso X), Shuanglu en Chine (dans le Pushuang) et Golaka-Krida en Inde (dans le Manasollasa). La position initiale du backgammon était donc déjà connue dès le 12ème-13ème siècle. 

A la Renaissance, cette variante est la plus jouée en Angleterre où elle se nomme Irish. Elle sera aussi jouée en France sous le nom de Toutes Tables et en Italie sous le nom de Totae Tabulae (en latin).

Le nom « Backgammon » apparaît en 1635 en Angleterre (Familiar Letters). Le Backgammon se différencie alors de l’Irish par le fait de jouer 4 fois les doublets.

Il faudra attendre le siècle des Lumières pour que les règles du backgammon soient totalement codifiées par Edmond Hoyle. Il ne manquera alors que le dé doubleur qui sera inventé aux Etats-Unis à la fin des années 20 (Backgammon Moderne).